Six Sigma Training and Certification

Six Sigma is a management approach meant to improve the quality of products or services by eliminating the variation that causes defects and errors. MindEdge offers comprehensive Six Sigma training and certification based on the DMAIC quality process model. Courses are 100% web-based, affordable, easy to navigate, and interactive with games, case studies, and assessment questions.

Six Sigma Pyramid

Through the Ask the Expert feature, learners can submit content-related questions and receive feedback within 24 hours. For students seeking black belt certification, MindEdge's Black Belt Review Panel assesses project completeness.

MindEdge Six Sigma certification requires renewal every 3 years.

MindEdge's Quality Council ensures the accuracy, comprehensiveness, and relevance of MindEdge's Six Sigma, Lean, and Lean Six Sigma courses, certifications, and processes. Click here for more on the Council.

Frequently Asked Questions

To obtain Six Sigma certification (either Green or Yellow Belt), you must score 70% or higher on the certification exam that pertains to the level you are studying.

Yes. If you feel that your knowledge and experience is sufficient, you are welcome to take the Green or Yellow Belt Certification Exam without taking the preparation course for that belt. (Note: MindEdge's Guarantee* only applies when a certification exam is taken after the preparation course.)

*MindEdge's Guarantee: We guarantee that any learner who takes and passes a MindEdge exam prep course with a minimum score of 70%, will pass their certification exam if taken within 45 days of completing the test prep course.

The courses are all self-paced without a cohort or instructor. Learners have access to an "Ask the Expert" feature that enables submitting a question to a Six Sigma expert who responds within 24 to 48 hours.

Although 100% completion is not required in order to take the certification exam, if learners want to obtain PMI's PDUs for the prep courses, 100% completion is required, along with a minimum 70% passing score on the practice exam.

The Black Belt

This individual is a full-time Six Sigma implementation expert who manages projects and may also mentor Green Belts and Yellow Belts in an organization. This is an advanced level program covering the DMAIC methodology.

The Green Belt

This individual acts as a Six Sigma team member in an organization. This is an intermediate level program covering the DMAIC methodology.

The Yellow Belt

This individual plays a part-time role in Six Sigma improvement endeavors supporting the efforts of Green Belts and Black Belts. This program covers the fundamentals of the DMAIC methodology.

The certification exam for the Six Sigma Green and Yellow Belts includes a selection of material covered in the Belt's respective preparation course. The Yellow Belt and Green Belt exams consist of multiple-choice questions only, while the Black Belt exam includes multiple choice questions as well as essay questions that require a written response. If you are taking a certification exam without taking a MindEdge preparation course, the level of information in the certification exam can be expected to meet the level of knowledge of a working professional holding the Six Sigma Belt.

If you fail a Six Sigma Certification Exam, you are welcome to purchase the exam again and make another attempt at the certification. If you have completed and passed the preparation course with a minimum score of 70% prior to attempting and failing the certification exam then the MindEdge Guarantee would permit you to retake the certification exam again without cost.

Yellow Belt: 50 multiple choice questions to be completed in 1.5 hours

Green Belt: 100 multiple choice questions to be completed in 2.5 hours

Black Belt: 30 multiple choice questions and 3 essay questions to be completed in 4 hours.

The prerequisites to take a Six Sigma certification exam depend upon the Belt level. The MindEdge Six Sigma Yellow Belt does not have any prerequisites and may be taken by anyone who feels she or he is adequately prepared to pass the certification exam. Individuals interested in taking the MindEdge Green Belt certification exam are encouraged to have some exposure to Six Sigma initiatives in an organizational setting. If you would like to take the MindEdge Six Sigma Black Belt certification exam, you must complete a program application which asks for background information on your level of formal training and on the job Six Sigma project experience.

To maintain a MindEdge Green Belt or Yellow Belt Six Sigma certification, you must complete the Recertification Exam (50 questions) every 3 years. Black Belt recertification is required every 5 years. Recertification ensures that your knowledge of Six Sigma principles remains current and that your certification retains its value. Upon successful completion of the Recertification Exam you will receive an updated certificate of achievement.

If the Six Sigma project that you are using to meet the Black Belt certification requirements concerns sensitive information, you may redact such information accordingly to protect your company or client.

Yes. As long as you fulfill any prerequisite work experience, you are welcome to take any of the MindEdge Six Sigma certification exams regardless of place of previous training.

While both Six Sigma and Lean seek quality through process improvement, there is a different focus; Six Sigma seeks to eliminate variation and Lean seeks to eliminate waste.

Six Sigma is a management approach meant to improve the quality of products or services by eliminating the variation that causes of defects and errors. Developed by Motorola and championed by Jack Welch of GE, Six Sigma seeks processes where outputs are 99.99966% statistically free from defects.

Lean involves continuous efforts to eliminate or reduce waste or any activity that doesn't add value, while empowering employees to uncover and solve problems. Lean was developed by Toyota.